Healthy Eats: Sweet Potato & Black Bean Turkey Burgers

IMG_7364

IMG_7365
Thank you to my love Kyle and roomie Beracah for making the patties for me after I accidentally cut my hand on a can of beans heh
IMG_7369
not the greatest picture, but only because we were all too aggressively hungry and excited to bother with photos
My diet did a complete 180 when I went to college. Although I was living off my mother’s pre-packed food for a majority of my first quarter in school, that quickly tapered off as I visited home less and I was reduced to eating a lot of junk food, fast food, and frozen aisle food. The fact that I’d been forced into a relatively healthy lifestyle for most of my childhood and adolescence, this newfound freedom to eat whatever and whenever I wanted did quite a number on me as well.

I went from eating 3 solid, nutritious well-portioned meals a day to sporadically eating somewhere between 5 small meals to 2 large meals a day. I also impulse bought chips, candy and ice cream like a crazy person because HAHA MOM! YOU AREN’T HERE TO STOP ME!

Eventually I started cooking for myself, which was great! Except all the things I learned how to make were terrible, awful, delicious things like fancy mac & cheese, and loaded baked potatoes and chocolate cake! 😋

…And that’s the story of how I gained 30 lbs in 2 years.

Fortunately, somewhere around my junior year, I realized that maybe my weight gain had something to do with my frequent 3am ice cream runs, and breakfasts that consisted of 3 donuts and an iced coffee sipped through a twizzler. So begrudgingly, I started to eat “healthier” in an effort to lose weight. Over time though, I learned that “healthy” didn’t necessarily mean “un-tasty”. I didn’t have to eat salads and steamed vegetables all day (although there are definitely ways to make them a lot exciting!) I could eat tons of things that were both yummy AND healthy!

Here’s one of my favorite recipes for turkey burgers, that’s relatively easy to make, and super healthy too!

I wrote down my own variation of the recipe below, and usually choose not to make the sriracha-lime crema.

Ingredients:

2 cups sweet potatoes, cut into ½-inch cubes (about 1 medium sweet potato)
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup canned black beans (a little more than half a 15-ounce can), drained and rinsed
1 pounds ground turkey breast
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon of chili powder
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
½ teaspoon salt
1/2 freshly cracked pepper
your choice of lettuce, tomato and condiments and buns for serving!

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place your cubed sweet potatoes on a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment. Drizzle with olive oil and toss to coat. Bake your sweet potatoes for 23 minutes, stirring halfway through, until they’re tender.
  3. Place the sweet potatoes and black beans in a food processor or blender and pulse until just combined. (I processed mine till it was pretty smooth, but there was still some chunks in there, no biggie)
  4. Place the sweet potato and bean mixture in a large bowl with the ground turkey, garlic, cilantro, cumin, chili powder, paprika, pepper and salt. Use your hands to mix the ingredients until just combined.
  5. With damp hands, mold the turkey mixture into 6 patties, about ¾-inch in thickness. Place the patties on a parchment or foil-lined baking sheet, transfer to the oven, and bake for 28 minutes until cooked through.

 

Healthy Eats: Sweet Potato & Black Bean Turkey Burgers

Leave a Reply

